Katy ISD’s Sports Video Crew Receives Prestigious Multimedia Spotlight Award 

Katy ISD’s Sports Video Crew Receives Prestigious Multimedia Spotlight Award 

October 26 2023

The Katy ISD Miller Career and Technical Center video crew recently received the prestigious Dave Campbell’s Student Multimedia Spotlight Award, recognizing their outstanding contributions to the world of sports media.  

These 22 Katy ISD students bring passion, dedication and remarkable skill to their craft that elevates the viewing experience for thousands of fans. In the ever-evolving field of sports media, these students are raising the bar by utilizing technology to deliver a professional-level broadcast, enhancing the overall production and in-game commentary.  

Ashtyn Rector - Directing 

According to the Dave Campbell’s Texas Football website, 10 schools will be spotlighted during the 2023 Texas high school football season and each one will receive a $1,000 donation to their program thanks to the support of VCRNOW.   

“These students have greatly enhanced the game day experience by providing quality action shots, instant replays and fulfilling advertising contracts. The production is such great quality that our partner Dave Campbell’s Texan Live uses our content for their live game day feed,” said Lance Carter, Executive Director of Athletics at Katy ISD. “We are grateful for this recognition of our hardworking kids,” he added.  

Alisa Assed – Technical Directing 

The 10 winners of the weekly award will be eligible to compete for the Multimedia Program of the Year for a chance to win a $2,500 donation to be presented at the 2023 UIL State Championships at AT&T Stadium.  

Dominic Carreria – Stationary Camera 

*Tip of the cap* to the following students and staff members from the Miller Career and Technical Center video crew: 

Executive Director: Kerrie Thompson 

Junior Stadium Directors: Alesi Cole (Tompkins HS c/o 2021) & Rachel Rafferty (Seven Lakes c/o 2020) 

Ethan Roberts – Show Control 
Student Workers: Brianna Agustin - Paetow High School, Juan Alvarado - Cinco Ranch High School, Sarim Anis - Jordan High School, Alisa Assed - Seven Lakes High School, Dominic Carreira - Taylor High School, Chase DeLellis - Tompkins High School, Brendon Fortney - Seven Lakes High School, Guillermo Garcia - Mayde Creek High School, Mark Jorn - Jordan High School, Elizabeth Lemke - Taylor High School, Dylan Navarrete Ortega - Seven Lakes High School, Jared Nielson - Cinco Ranch High School, Kaleigh Olds - Seven Lakes High School, Solene Partouche - Seven Lakes High School, Ashtyn Rector - Seven Lakes High School, Lyannie Reyes Russi - Cinco Ranch High School, Ethan Roberts - Tompkins High School, Jaylen Staton - Paetow High School, Alix Teran - Cinco Ranch High School, Jay Van Dyke - Tompkins High School, Breno Werneck Genofre Rocha - Tompkins High School, Juan Pablo Zapata - Seven Lakes High School 
Source: Katy ISD

Subscribe to Your


Stay current on local news and events with periodic emails sent straight to you!

Change Neighborhood

Select Your Region/Community